Text of the Church House Declaration
Text of the Church House Declaration

Seema Malhotra, the Labour and Co-operative Member of Parliament for Feltham and Heston, has signed the Church House Declaration, pledging to work cross-party and cross-nation to oppose the prorogation of Parliament to force through a “no-deal” Brexit.

It comes as the Government is expected to prorogue Parliament on 12th September ahead of a Queen’s speech on 14th October in an attempt to prevent MPs passing legislation to avoid the UK leaving the EU without a deal. The Leader of the Labour Party, Jeremy Corbyn, convened a meeting of other Opposition Party Westminster Leaders yesterday to discuss how MPs opposed to ‘no deal’ can work together in the coming weeks and months.

Representatives of all anti-No Deal Opposition parties met yesterday at Church House.

As of the 28th of August, its signatories include 133 Labour MPs, 34 SNP MPs, 14 Lib Dem MPs, 5 Conservative MPs, 5 The Independent Group for Change MPs, 5 MPs from The Independents, 4 Plaid Cymru MPs, 2 independent MPs and one Green MP.

Link to Instagram Link to Twitter Link to YouTube Link to Facebook Link to LinkedIn Link to Snapchat Close Fax Website Location Phone Email Calendar Building Search