Seema Malhotra MP has joined the UCL (University College London) Independent Commission on Referendums.

The twelve Commission members include two former cabinet-level ministers, four other current and former parliamentarians, the former Chair of the Electoral Commission and a former head of political programming at the BBC. Others are leaders in the fields of political theory, media standards and public opinion.

They are: Sir Joseph Pilling KCB, the Rt Rev. the Lord Eames OM, Rt Hon Cheryl Gillan MP, Rt Hon Dominic Grieve QC MP, Sue Inglish, Seema Malhotra MP, Deborah Mattinson, Dr Martin Moore, Professor David Runciman, Rt Hon Gisela Stuart, Jenny Watson CBE and Andrew Wilson.

The Commission will look at five main areas:

  • the place that referendums should play in the UK’s system of representative democracy
  • the legal effect of referendums and whether any additional constitutional safeguards are needed
  • the role of government during the campaign
  • the regulation of the designated campaign groups
  • the provision of public information and education, and promotion of informed debate.
Link to Instagram Link to Twitter Link to YouTube Link to Facebook Link to LinkedIn Link to Snapchat Close Fax Website Location Phone Email Calendar Building Search